Illinois Civic Mission Coalition
The Illinois Civic Mission Coalition (ICMC) is a broad non-partisan consortium including educators, administrators, students, universities, funders, elected officials, policymakers and representatives from the private and non-profit sectors. Formed in 2004 by the Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago, the Illinois Coalition is part of the Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools, a national initiative to restore a core purpose of education to prepare America’s youngest citizens to be informed and active participants in our democracy. The McCormick Foundation Civics Program serves as convener for the Coalition.

View videos and presentations from the 2013 Annual Convening >>
Illinois Civic Mission Coalition

McCormick Foundation

The McCormick Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to strengthening our nation's civic health by creating educated, informed and engaged citizens. Through its grantmaking programs, Cantigny Park and Golf, and museums, the Foundation helps build citizen leaders and make life better in our communities. The Foundation was established as a charitable trust in 1955, upon the death of Colonel Robert R. McCormick, the longtime editor and publisher of the Chicago Tribune. The McCormick Foundation is one of the nation's largest charities, with more than $1 billion in assets. For more information, please visit
McCormick Freedom Project

Illinois Civic Mission Coalition Members

Deb Allen, YMCA Youth & Government
Jill Bass, Mikva Challenge
Mary Bates, Hazard, Young, Attea
Brian Brady, Mikva Challenge
Emily Burke, Paul Simon Public Policy Institute
Nivan Chavkin, Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago
Kevin Coon, Glenbard North High School
The Honorable Barbara Flynn Currie (D-25), Illinois House of Representatives
Mary Ellen Daneels, Community High School (West Chicago)
The Honorable William Davis (D-30), Illinois House of Representatives
Jan Dorner, Illinois League of Women Voters
Kathy Engelken, Illinois Campus Compact
Patton Feichter, Center for Civic Education
Victor Filippini, Holland & Knight LLP
Benjamin Ghess, Human Resources Development Institute, Inc.
Ted Gibbs, Illinois Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service
Terri Hanrahan, Glenbard South High School
Shawn Healy, McCormick Foundation Civics Program
Diana Hess, Spencer Foundation
Maryam Judar, Citizen Advocacy Center
Howard Kaplan, American Bar Association Division for Public Education
Sue Khalaeiff, Geneva High School
Marc Kiehna, Illinois Regional Office of Education #45
James A. Klenk, Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal LLP
The Honorable Lou Lang (D-16), Illinois House of Representatives
Cheryl Levi, Representative Democracy in America
Hayley Lotspeich, Wheaton North High School
Frank Mackaman, Dirksen Congressional Center
Charles Madigan, Roosevelt University
Michael Mangan, Illinois Resource Center
Keith Matune, Lake Park High School (Roselle)
Tiffany Wiley Middleton, American Bar Association Division for Public Education
Marty Moe, Chicago Public Schools
Peggy Mueller, Chicago Community Trust
Sue Gahagan Mueller, Maine West High School (Des Plaines)
Jim Nowlan, University of Illinois
Bonnie Oberman, Facing History & Ourselves
Larry Pahl, Bartlett High School
The Honorable Carole Pankau (R-23), Illinois Senate
Don Pankuch, Metea Valley High School (Aurora)
Terry Pastika, Citizen Advocacy Center
Carolyn Pereira, Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago
The Honorable Randy Ramey (R-55), Illinois House of Representatives
Howard Roesing, Steans Center, Depaul University
Jesse H. Ruiz, Drinker Biddle Gardner Carton
Darlene Ruscitti, Regional Office of Education, DuPage County
Dee Runaas, Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago
Ann Marie Ryan, Loyola University Chicago
Gloria Santona, McDonald's Corporation
Jon Schmidt, Chicago Public Schools Service Learning Manager
Sheila Smith, Barat Education Foundation
Sharon Smogor, Carmel Catholic High School (Mundelein)
Randy Swikle, Illinois Journalism Education Association
Chuck Thomason, Project Citizen Coordinator
Pat Usher, Carl Sandburg High School (Orland Park)
Frank Valadez, Chicago Metro History Education Center
Missey Wilhelm, Illinois League of Women Voters
Lisa Willuwiet, Community High School (West Chicago)
Cynthia Woods, Illinois Association of School Boards
David Yepsen, Paul Simon Public Policy Institute
YouTube Icon MediumWatch Us On YouTube Your donations helped raise over $1 million to help central Illinois communities recover from tornadoes. >>

The Latest From Twitter

Robert R. McCormick Foundation
205 N. Michigan Ave.
Suite 4300
Chicago, IL 60601

Full Website
Communities Program

McCormick Foundation
205 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 4300
Chicago, IL 60601

Phone: 312 445 5000
Fax: 312 445 5001